Fishing advice and information for the disabled or able bodied anglers
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Fly Tying Basic's: THE TOOLS

Go down

Fly Tying Basic's: THE TOOLS Empty Fly Tying Basic's: THE TOOLS

Post by wayne Wed Apr 02, 2008 11:25 am

When I decided to write this article I realised there are a lot of members who have a lot of experience in fly tying, I also realised there are also a lot with no or a very limited experience so this series of posts is aimed at the beginner with no or a limited experience of the basics of fly dressing but hopefully there will also be somethings here that could be of value to the more experienced tiers amongst us as we are all continually learning and sharing our experiences.
Although I am not an expert in this field I hope I can pass on the knowledge I have gained onto others and hopefully introduce others to this art.

The first thing to cover should be tools. There are many tools on the market available to the fly tier some better made than others. Poor tools are not beneficial to anyone more so to the beginner and can become a complete hindrance. For this reason always seek out good quality tools. Quality, serviceable tools can be purchased at very reasonable prices these days so it need not bust the bank to obtain quality tools. Tools can be divided into two categories: essential and optional. The essential tools should be the mainstay of your equipment and will be the tools that will be used with all of your tying applications, without them your tying will be impossible or at the least awkward reducing you’re tying pleasure. The optional tools can and will help with certain applications you will encounter while fly tying, while some are a blessing others could be questioned as to their value, value being based on the style of the tier using them.

Essential Tools.

Vice.